CO-MUN 2019

CO-MUN 2019
Posted on 09/16/2019
General AssemblyNW BOCES hosted 150 middle school students from 13 schools for the 8th Annual Colorado Model United Nations Forum on May 8th & 9th, 2019. Congratulations to the following Award winners:

Superior Team- The Australia delegation passed their resolution that proposed reducing single use plastic pollution. (Wyatt Boeckers, Carter Chamberlain, Bryce Johnson, Logan Keilly, Mika Lakai, Steffi O'Flaherty, & TJ Tibbits-  EGMS).

Outstanding Team-  The US delegation proposed a resolution to aid US asylum seekers. (Trevor Harms, Gabe Gray, Harper Danielsen, Katie McLaughlin, & Stella Davies-SSMS).

The above two awards are based on the quality of the written resolution, oral presentation, and delegate participation.

Best Presentation went to the speaker representing South Sudan- Suzy Magill- SSMS. 

Best Delegate went to two who shared representation in the International Court for Maldives- Molly McAdams & Emma Beckwith- EVMS. 

Best Written Resolution
went to the South Korea delegation who proposed an emissions treaty to reduce global air pollution. (Alison Apostle, Madi Yamashita, Natalia Craig, Andie Koly, Caroline Landers, & Maggie Baumgartner- SSMS).

Best Dressed was awarded to team Honduras (Nathan Chua, Henry Waldorf, Simon Wilcox, Samuel Zieschang, Jackie Martinski, Paddy Aither, & Jonah McKnight- EGMS).

pic of student from team Japan

Approximately 150 Middle School Students came together for two days to debate the merit of the resolutions they had researched and developed since November. 26 Nations attended the event and met in Council Sessions on Day 1 to debate in small groups. Each council heard 5 or 6 resolutions. Then on Day 2 the top 8 scoring nations went on to present in front of the General Assembly. The sessions are led by Steamboat Springs High School student Ambassadors. 

Click here to see a summary of the issues discussed. 

students raising cards

students talking

chad students


Schools attending included: Aspen Middle School, Craig Middle School, Eagle Valley Middle School, East Grand Middle School, Gypsum Creek Middle School, Homestake Middle School, North Park Middle School, North Routt Community Charter School, South Routt Middle School, Steamboat Springs Middle School, Vail Ski & Snowboard Academy, and West Grand Middle School.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.