Gifted & Talented

Gifted & Talented

As the Administrative Unit for our member school districts under the Exceptional Children's Educational Act, NW BOCES coordinates the Gifted and Talented (GT) Plan for member school districts.  A GT committee meets throughout the year to collaborate on issues related to GT students and their needs.


GT Committee



Thom Schnellinger
East Grand School District
Box 125
Granby, CO 80446
970-887-2104
thom.schnellinger@egsd.org

Christy Sinner

Hayden Schools
Box 70, 495 West Jefferson
Hayden, CO 81639
970-276-3864
csinner@haydenschools.org
‚Äč


Vera Turner,
 BOCES GT Administrator
Moffat County Schools
201 E. 9th Street
Craig, CO 81625
970-824-3268
970-620-0945 (cell)
vera.turner@nwboces.org


Angie Wintermote

North Park Schools
Box 798
Walden, CO 80480
970-723-3300
awintermote@northpark.k12.co.us

Janet Peasley

South Routt School District
P.O. Box 97
Yampa, CO 80483
970-736-2313
jpeasley@southrouttk12.org


Jennifer McCannon

Soda Creek Elementary School
220 Park Avenue
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-0652
jmccannon@ssk12.org

Robin Alt

Strawberry Park Elementary School
39620 Amethyst Drive
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-7550
ralt@ssk12.org


Pamela Karzen

Steamboat Springs Middle School
39610 Amethyst Drive
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-1058
pkarzen@ssk12.org

Donna Weinman

Steamboat Springs High School
45 E. Maple Street
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-1562
dweinman@ssk12.org


Marty Lamansky

Steamboat Springs School District
325 7th Street
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-871-3194
mlamansky@ssk12.org

Brandon LaChance

North Routt Community Charter School
26990 Eagle Lane
Clark, CO 80428-9702
970-871-6062
blachance@northroutt.com


Laura Gore

West Grand Schools
715 Kinsey Avenue
P.O. Box 515
Kremmling, CO 80459
970-724-1000
gorel@wgsd.us


Julia Watson

Gifted Education Regional Consultant
P.O. Box 538
Edwards, CO 81632
970-926-0445/970-390-6972 (cell)
jwbarnett@earthlink.net



School district websites have GT information and links that are helpful for all students, parents, and teachers.


The following are documents that lay out the general framework for how a student is identified as GT (please also refer to school district specific information on individual district procedures):

Procedures for Kindergarten Early Entrance for Highly Gifted Students

Screening Procedures for GT Identification

Gifted Identification Pathways

Flow Chart for Twice Exceptional Identification


Sample Forms:

NW Colorado BOCES GT Parent Referral/Permission Form and Teacher Referral Form

Parent Referral/Permission Form in Spanish


Gifted and Talented Resources

Parent Group Documents-Information for parents interested in forming a support group for gifted children or just for how to best support their school's GT efforts individually.

Gifted Education Dispute Resolution Process

Guide to Acceleration

Websites with resources for teachers, parents, and students:

National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC)

Colorado Association for Gifted and Talented (CAGT)

Ricks Center for Gifted Children at the University of Denver

Colorado Department of Education (CDE) Gifted and Talented Education

Supporting Emotional Needs of the Gifted (SENG) 

Belin-Blank Center

Action-Based Learning- Jean Blaydes Maddigan's website with strategies that "move" students to learn.

Hoagies Gifted Education Page

GT teachers click here to get to the Online Administration Log-in page for the NNAT2.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.